You are about to leave an AbbVie Canada site, a Web site maintained by AbbVie Corporation.

This link is provided for your convenience only. AbbVie Corporation takes no responsibility for the content of any Web site maintained by any third party and makes no representation as to the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this or any subsequent link.

Do you wish to leave this site?

Yes No

You are here

What are the types of Hepatitis C infection?

There are six types of hepatitis C virus, which all have different genotypes (the genetic structure or makeup of living organisms). The six different genotypes are numbered in the order of their discovery, and each has many subtypes, lettered in the order they were discovered. It is important to find out which hepatitis C genotype you have, because it determines the type and the length of treatment that is best for you, and helps predict the likelihood of effectively treating HCV. In Canada, the genotype subtype 1a (which 36.5% of HCV-infected people have) is the most common. Most patients with HCV are found to have only one principal genotype, rather than multiple genotypes. Once identified, it need not be tested again. Genotypes do not change over time.

Canada Genotype Prevalence (%)
Other genotype 1
Mixed or other

Genotype generally has not been found to play a role in the progression of liver disease caused by HCV. Rather, for doctors, knowing their patient’s hepatitis C genotype is helpful in making a drug-treatment recommendation, as some therapies fight certain HCV genotypes better than others.

*From one publication with small studies. Relatively few studies regarding the prevalence of GT5 and GT 6 in Canada have been done so the prevalence is not fully known.